Skip to Content

Do Crocs Run Big or Small? – A Review (w/ photos)

When shopping for Crocs a common concern customers have is ‘do Crocs run big or small?’. Crocs have so many styles to offer, for men, women and children, and the same concern rings true for all.

When shopping for Crocs myself I too have wondered how they will fit and whether they will be true to size. With this in mind I decided to fully research and review Crocs sizing for myself, including trawling through reddit forums and customer reviews, as well as owning my own pairs to test.

Here are my findings presented in this article, including my own personal review, so you don’t have to spend hours researching yourself! I’ve also included a sizing guide, so you can double check your size before purchasing, and save you the hassle of returns.

*This page may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases at no additional cost to you. Learn More.

Do Crocs Run Big or Small?

Crocs do not run big or small, they run true to size. Crocs have several different styles where sizing may vary, but as a general rule all Crocs run true to size.

I’m going to break down the most popular styles of Crocs and whether each style runs big, small or true to size. This way, you’ll have a quick guide for the style of Crocs you are considering purchasing.

Crocs Classic Clog

Crocs Classic Clogs run true to size and have the best fit out of all of the Crocs styles. The clogs are roomy with wiggle room for your toes, but not too large that your feet will move around inside the shoe.

In my personal experience wearing classic Crocs I have found the fit to be very comfortable. My feet don’t slide inside my classic Crocs, but my arches, toes and the top of my feet don’t feel squashed either.

I find the strap to be comfortable and not too tight or too loose on my heels. There is space for my toes to move without feeling restricted which makes wearing the shoes for long periods of time manageable.

Click here to see the current price of Classic Crocs on Amazon.com.

In addition to wearing the classic Crocs myself to form my opinion, I also research the customer reviews on Amazon and on reddit forums to come to the same conclusion.

Here’s what a recent Amazon customer had to say:

Just bought these for the Mrs. She is a size 6 so I got Men UK 5 / Women UK 6 and they fit perfectly. The last pair of Crocs I bought lasted 7 years so these are made to last. Brilliant and comfortable for the forthcoming summer days.” – Crocs Classic Amazon review, April 2020.

View on Amazon here:

Crocs Women’s Classic ClogView

Some reviews also mention that the Crocs made in Mexico can run smaller than the Crocs made in Italy, which run true to size. It’s best to keep this in mind when purchasing.

My final thoughts are classic Crocs have a true fit that doesn’t run big or small.

You may also like: 15 Cheap Crocs Knockoffs That Are Super Comfortable

Crocs Kadee Work Ballet Flats

The Crocs Women’s Kadee Work Ballet Flats tend to run on the smaller side. They are more suitable for normal to narrow feet.

My sister in law is a nurse who wears the Kadee Work Flats on her feet all day at work, and she finds them to fit comfortably. She has quite petite feet and does not have a wide step.

Here’s a picture of her Kadee Work Flats, so you can see the shape and fit:

Ballet flat Crocs

She doesn’t have a problem with the fit, however a number of reddit forum posts and Amazon customer reviews have mentioned they do run small.

Here’s what one Amazon customer had to say:

These shoes are comfy I will say however I have wide feet so they are a bit tight round the top of my feet causing the top of the shoe to bend slightly inwards.” – Amazon review, August 2018.

Click here to view the current price of the Crocs Kadee Work Flats on Amazon.com.

Crocs Bistro Clog

Crocs Bistro Clogs tend to run slightly wide, which is ideal for those with wide feet. They are comfortable for a wider step and ideal for those working on their feet all day.

I personally find the Bistro Clogs to be slightly too roomy for my liking, which is why I always stick to wearing classic Crocs. I have tried on Bistro Clogs a number of times in shoe stores, and always find there is slight too much room around my toes.

I have normal feet, so they aren’t the best fit for me personally. I’ve also researched what others have to say about the fit of Bistro Clogs and many have come to the same conclusion as me.

Here’s what an Amazon customer had to say about the sizing:

I had to cut holes in the previous ones as my foot created an airtight seal once they were on. But these new ones are slightly bigger and don’t need the holes. They also have an inner pimpled foot bed and the hard sole wraps round the toe and heel a tad. These new ones seem even tougher than the originals and I’m chuffed to bits with them.” – Amazon review, June 2017.

Click here to view the current price of Crocs Bistro Clogs on Amazon.com.

The Bistro clogs are made for those working in hospitality, who need slip-resistant tread for kitchen floors as well as maximum comfort for long shifts on their feet.

Here’s what a chef had to say about the Crocs Bistro Clogs:

These are completely different. Comfortable, practical, good fit. I work as a chef in a busy kitchen and it’s good to find some decent footwear that ticks the boxes.” – Amazon review, October 2017.

Crocs ‘On the Clock’ Shoe

Crocs ‘On the Clock’ Shoe fits true to size, not running big or small. They are ideal for those with normal sized feet, but may be a little too roomy for those with narrow feet.

This style of Crocs are designed for those working on their feet all day. They are supremely comfortable and fit a regular sized foot. The fit is very secure as they are designed for safety.

The toes are closed so any hot liquids or dropped tools won’t slip through the classically designed air holes. This makes them a great choice for nurses and restaurant workers. They also feature a lock traction, anti-slip design on the outer soles for safety when walking on slippery surfaces.

Click here to view the current price of Crocs ‘On the Clock’ Shoes on Amazon.com.

After researching the fit of this shoe on reddit forums and Amazon reviews, here are some stand out comments about the On The Clock Crocs:

Great size. My mother bought these for work. She found them very comfy. Nice cushioned insole with a mighty grip on the soles.” – Amazon review, September 2020.

I started working in a kitchen recently as a chef, these are perfect for that environment. The anti-slip tread on the sole of the shoes is great, and these truly are one of the most comfortable pair of shoes that I have worn, can withstand a 12 hour shift easily. Would recommend!” – Amazon review, October 2020.

I love my Crocs on the clock! They are so comfortable…like walking on clouds.” – Reddit post by a medical worker, February 2021.

Crocs Crocband Clog

Crocs Crocband Clogs fit true to size. They are ideal for those with normal sized feet, but may be a little tight for those with wide feet.

In my personal experience trying on the Crocband clogs in shoe stores I’ve found they aren’t as wide and roomy as the classic Crocs. For this reason I tend to stick to classic Crocs.

The Crocband style has a more sporty aesthetic for those who want a more fashionable look, making them a good choice for those who don’t like the goofy style of classic Crocs. Inspired by retro trainers, the Crocband Crocs have a cool looking band around the outer sole and are available in a range of fun colors.

Here’s what one Amazon customer had to say about the fit:

Bought these as an alternative to jamming down the backs of my trainers to go in the back garden, I am a UK 6.5 to 7 and they fit me really well. Very comfy and just the job.” – Amazon review.

I usually wear an 8.5 shoe, so some styles of crocs fit me best in 8, I got these in size 9 and I’m very happy with them. I have pretty wide feet and these are super comfy.” – Amazon review, November 2017.

Click to see the current price on Amazon.com.

Crocs Crocband Flip Flop

Crocs Crocband Flip Flops run slightly small so it’s best to order a size up to the next largest whole size. This is due to the relaxed fit of the shoe.

Many customer reviews and reddit forums online report these shoes offer a very comfortable fit, with raised bumps on the inside of the flip flop for traction when walking.

My partner owns the Crocband Flip Flops and he wears them all summer long. He finds the fit to be loose and comfortable, with enough slip resistance to make them safe to walk on slippery surfaces. The wide straps don’t rub against the feet and instead fit nicely.

In addition to my partner’s feedback on the fit of these Crocband Flip Flops, here’s what one customer had to say on Amazon:

I really love these BUT size up. Wish I had done. I bought the black size 4. I’m always a size 4, never have any trouble before but with these my heel is just over the edge. I can still wear them but wishing I’d got the size 5!
Other than that, great quality and look really nice.
” – Amazon review, June 2021.

Click here to view the current price of Crocs Crocband Flip Flops on Amazon.com.

Crocs Slipper

The Crocs slippers (Lined Clog/Fuzzy Slippers) fit true to size like the Classic Clogs. The only difference in fit is the warm fuzzy lining.

These Crocs slipper offer a comfortable roomy fit. If you want to wear them with thick socks in the winter then I recommend sizing up in order to accommodate the socks.

The lining is thick and cosy but it doesn’t change the fit of the shoe too much when compared to the classic Croc. I would suggest purchasing the same size that you wear for the classic Crocs.

Here’s what an Amazon customer had to say about the fit of the Crocs Slippers:

The size and color, black, was perfect and I put them on, stood up and oh my gosh, I felt a difference immediately!! Soft, perfect fit, I’m an 8w, and I feel like I just spent 400.00 on special orthopedic shoes. I wear them everywhere, not caring what other people think!” – Amazon review, March 2021.

Click here to view the current price of Crocs Slippers on Amazon.com.

Crocs Classic Slide Sandals

The Crocs Classic Slide Sandals run slightly big, so it is recommended to size down unless you have wide feet.

The Crocs Slide Sandals have a wide foot bed, offering a roomy fit which is great for those with wide feet. I personally find them to be a little big (I have ‘normal’ feet that aren’t narrow or wide), and Crocs themselves recommend sizing down.

I don’t find the sides to be as cushioning as classic Crocs, but they are really comfortable for slide sandals in general.

In addition to my experience, here’s what another customer had to say about the slides in the Amazon reviews:

Sadly despite me wearing a size 10 for all my adult life, they are a tad too big. If I were to reorder I would get a 9.5 instead. These are very comfortable otherwise and by wearing them just around the home they seem to be helping me with my plantar fasciitis.” – Amazon review, August 2020.

Crocs Sizes Explained

When shopping for Crocs many of us end up feeling a little confused by the sizing. Here are some common sizing FAQs and answers, along with a handy sizing chart I created to help you choose the perfect size for you.

How To Choose Crocs Size

The easiest way to choose your Crocs size is to use the following chart to convert your regular shoe size into Crocs sizing (for example if you are a US Men’s size 8 you will be an M8 in Crocs sizing):

The above chart is also super helpful for converting European and UK shoe sizing into Crocs sizes.

If you are a UK size 8 or a EUR size 41 you will be an M9 in Crocs sizing. Classic Crocs fit true to size, so using this chart will help you get the most accurate fit.

If you find this chart helpful and would like to save it for later feel free to share it to Pinterest!

How Crocs Should Fit

Crocs should fit comfortably without rubbing your feet. There should be some wiggle room for your toes, with the surrounding shoe fitting snuggly to the feet. It’s also worth noting the shoe shouldn’t slide as you walk and your heel should rest comfortably.

Crocs come in three types of fit, which can be a little confusing to some. Here’s an explanation of each type of fit and how they should feel when worn:

Roomy:

The roomy fit is the most spacious and is best for wide feet. It’s an ideal fit for wearing around the house when you want to quickly slip on your pair of Crocs for casual wear. This fit is also great for breathability, with plenty of space for the toes to move around (source).

Relaxed:

The relaxed fit is comfortable and won’t squeeze your feet, however it isn’t as spacious as the roomy fit. This fit is ideal for casual wear inside or outside of the house. (source)

Standard:

The standard fit is designed to hug the feet, with a secure fit in mind. The standard fit is best for professionals working on their feet all day as it is the most secure and won’t slip when worn. Slip resistance is very important in professional settings, so the standard fit is designed with this in mind (source).

Best Crocs for Wide Feet?

The best Crocs for wide feet are the classic Crocs in the roomy fit, or the Bistro Clogs Crocs. The Bistro Clogs Crocs run slightly wider, so they are ideal for those with a wide step.

The classic Crocs in a roomy fit are extra spacious for those with wide feet and are great for breathability. If you prefer a closed shoe without air holes, then the Bistro Clogs are an excellent choice for a comfortable wide fit.

Shop Crocs here on Amazon.com.

Why do Crocs have two sizes?

Crocs have two sizes listed because of male and female sizing. The ‘M’ sizing refers to Men’s sizing and the ‘F’ sizing refers to Women’s sizing.

Crocs offer many styles that are available in both Men’s and Women’s sizing, and they use a sizing code to differentiate between the two. This can seem a little confusing at first, but once you convert your size using a Crocs sizing chart it’s actually very simple to work out.

Check out the above sizing chart featured in this article if you need some help figuring out your Crocs size.

FAQs

Do Crocs Stretch?

Crocs do stretch with time, as they are made with rubber, a naturally stretchy material. It takes about 4-6 weeks of daily wear for Crocs to begin to stretch and mold to your feet.

Breaking in Crocs is relatively easy thanks to the stretchy rubber material. Wearing your Crocs daily for four to six weeks is enough time for your Crocs to properly break in. Once they have stretched a little and molded to your feet they will be even more comfortable.

In my personal experience after this initial stretching period my classic Crocs have become more breathable and comfy to wear for extended periods of time. It should also be said that the break in period itself is painless as Crocs are cushioned and comfortable straight out of the box. You really can’t beat these stretchy shoes.

How To Stretch Crocs?

If you want to speed up the break in period the best way to stretch Crocs is to use a shoe stretcher overnight. Leave the shoe stretcher in your Crocs for around 12 hours (no longer than 24 hours) and they should stretch to a comfortable degree.

Another easy way to stretch Crocs to to gently warm them with a hairdryer on a low setting. Make sure you wear the Crocs whilst you do this so they will stretch to fit your foot shape.

here’s how to stretch out Crocs with a hairdryer:

  • Start by gently heating one section of the crocs at a time for no more than 20 seconds. Use your discretion with this, and take your time.
  • Allow the crocs to cool whilst they are still on your feet and you should feel some difference when wearing them afterwards.

Do Crocs Run Big For Toddlers?

Crocs do run slightly big for toddlers, allowing wiggle room for growing toes. If you are in doubt and want a secure fit for your child’s feet consider sizing down.

Crocs are an ideal shoe for kids and toddlers thanks to the comfort, breathability and excellent traction they provide. Making sure you choose the correct size for your little ones is really important so it’s best to measure their feet and use a sizing guide to help inform your purchase.

Click here to view a sizing chart and the current price of Toddler’s Crocs on Amazon.com.

In addition to my comments here’s what one Amazon customer had to say about the sizing of Toddler’s Crocs:

We love Crocs. They are great for kids summer wear and especially for boys who get absolutely filthy when they go outside. These wash easily and quickly. They last a while and are wide enough for wide flat feet.” – Amazon review, April 2019.

Are Crocs True To Size?

The Classic Crocs Clogs run true to size, with a comfortable fit that hugs the foot without squeezing the toes. The heel strap runs true to size also, fitting snuggly around the back of the heel without rubbing.

Share on Pinterest

If you enjoyed this article I’d be honoured if you would share the below image to Pinterest. Save it for later, or share to your public boards!

Do Crocs Run Big or Small

A Note

Thank you for reading this guide to ‘Do Crocs Run Big or Small?’ – I hope you now feel confident to purchase a pair of comfy Crocs knowing what to expect from each style sizing wise.

Don’t forget to use the handy Crocs sizing guide above to see how your size translates into Crocs sizing. It’s always best to double check your sizing to prevent the hassle of returns.

For more Crocs content, check out…

Related Articles

15 Cheap Crocs Knockoffs That Are Super Comfortable